Shapiro, Pamatmat, Zubizarreta, Findlay Honored with Princess Grace Awards


The 21 winners of the 2010 Princess Grace Awards were announced on Monday by the chair of the Princess Grace Foundation, Hon. John F. Lehman.

As always, the awards honor and celebrate accomplishment and promise in theater, dance, film and choreography.

Story continues below.

The awards themselves will be distributed at a black-tie fete on Nov. 10 at Cipriani 42nd Street.

Quoting from the press release:

The Awards winners exemplify both classical and experimental artistic disciplines and, while still considered emerging talent, already show exceptional promise in their areas of expertise. The Foundation’s support assists their theater and dance studies, helps pay their artistic fees at non-profit theater and dance companies and helps support their thesis film projects. The 2010 recipients hail from or are affiliated with organizations in 18 states.

In addition:

Past winners of the Awards who distinguish themselves in their artistic disciplines since receiving their initial Awards are eligible for the Princess Grace Statue Award. This Award includes a $25,000 gift and a Bronze Statue of Princess Grace created by Dutch artist Kees Verkade. This year’s Statue Award winner is Tony¬Æ Award-winning director Anna D. Shapiro.

Here are the rest of the winners:

For theater: Andrea Assaf (Pangea World Theater), Charlotte Brathwaite (Yale School of Drama), Shana Cooper (Oregon Shakespeare Festival), Tom Gleeson (Arden Theatre Company), Virginia Grise (Playwrights’ Arena) and Adam Pinti (Arizona State University).

For playwriting: A. Rey Pamatmat (New Dramatists).

For dance: Craig Black (The Juilliard School Dance Division), Ashley J. Jackson (Alonzo King’s Lines Ballet), Rachel Meyer (Dominic Walsh Dance Theater), Andrea Parson (Northwest Dance Project), Brett Perry (Trey McIntyre Project) and Andrew Wojtal (California Institute of the Arts).

For film: Jessica Anne Bardsley (School of the Art Institute of Chicago), Mike Gibisser (University of Illinois, Chicago), Laura Kraning (California Institute of the Arts), Sara Newens (Stanford University), Willie Williams (University of Southern California) and Javi Aitor Zubizarreta (University of Notre Dame).

For film (honoraria): Lorainne Arden (Vassar College), Chris Bryant (Chapman University) and Devan McGrath (Columbia College Chicago).

For special projects: Carlos Armesto (Ensemble Studio Theatre), John Fiege (University of Texas at Austin), Michael John Garces (INTAR Theatre), Zach Horton (University of California, San Diego), Kara Manning (New Dramatists), Benjamin Russell (School of the Art Institute of Chicago), Uri Sands (North Carolina Dance Theater).

For choreography: Kyle Abraham (Perry-Mansfield Performing Arts School & Camp) and Victor Quijada (Hubbard Street Dance Chicago).

Works in progress residency awards: Jim Findlay (The Wooster Group), Andrea Miller (Ballet Hispanico of New York) and Chi-Wang Yang (California Institute of the Arts).

For more information on the Princess Grace Foundation, click here.