Theatre Library Association Announces 41st Annual Awards


TLAThe Theatre Library Association has announced its 41st annual book awards.

Jayna Brown’s Babylon Girls: Black Women Performers and the Shaping of the Modern (Duke University Press) has won the George Freedley Memorial Award, honoring excellence in writing on theatre. (The Freedley Award is named for George Freedley, the first Curator of the New York Public Library’s Theatre Collection, and first President of the Theatre Library Association.) Professor Brown’s book is a groundbreaking study of African-American women performing in cabaret acts, chorus lines and burlesque revues between 1890 and 1945.

Story continues below.

And Mark Harris’ Pictures at a Revolution: Five Movies and the Birth of the New Hollywood (Penguin) is the winner of the 2008 TLA Award for excellence in writing on film and broadcasting. His book examines the five films nominated for the 1967 Academy Award for Best Picture through the prism of the social and political changes rippling through the United States, as well as the shifting power structure in Hollywood.

A cash prize accompanies each award.

The Theatre Library Association will honor the authors at an Oct. 9 ceremony in the Bruno Walter Auditorium of The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, located at Lincoln Center.

The awards ceremony will be highlighted by presentations from the winning authors on the research and writing of their books, followed by questions from the audience.

Two TLA members will also be honored at the ceremony. A special award for Distinguished Achievement in Service and Support of Performing Arts Libraries will be presented to Bob Taylor, former Curator of the Billy Rose Theatre Division of The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. Former TLA President Louis Rachow will be presented with a Lifetime Membership Award in tribute to his exceptional dedication and service to the organization.

The presentation will take place promptly at 6:00 P.M. following the annual TLA business meeting at 5:30 P.M. in the Bruno Walter Auditorium of The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts (enter at Amsterdam and 65th Street). A champagne reception will follow.

For more information on the TLA, click here.