Got Musicals? Apps Being Accepted for 2010 Jonathan Larson Grants


Jonathan Larson

Courtesy of publicists Rick Miramontez, Molly Barnett and Amanda Dekker…

Story continues below.

American Theatre Wing
Now Accepting Applications
2010 Jonathan Larson Grants

Recipients to be Announced
January 2010

The American Theatre Wing announced today that applications are now being accepted for the 2010 Jonathan Larson Grants. The grants, given annually to honor emerging composers, lyricists and book writers, help to continue Tony Award-winning composer Jonathan Larson’s dream of infusing musical theater with a contemporary, joyful, urban vitality.

Applications must be post marked by Aug. 29, 2009. Recipients will be announced in January 2010. The grants will be presented and recipients’ work will be showcased for an invited industry audience in late winter 2010. For complete guidelines and application materials, visit

Originally administered by the Jonathan Larson Performing Arts Foundation (from 1997-2008), the Jonathan Larson Grants became a part of The Wing last fall, adding to the organization’s storied history of programs designed to support theatre professionals at the beginning of their careers. Under the Jonathan Larson Performing Arts Foundation and now the American Theatre Wing, more than 80 composers, lyricists and book writers were recognized at the start of their careers.

Past recipients include Nell Benjamin, John Bucchino, Kirsten Childs, Ricky Ian Gordon, Amanda Green, Joe Iconis and Michael Korie.

For additional information about the Jonathan Larson Grants and all American Theatre Wing programs, go to